Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16596 Discussions

Quartus II Web Edition 10.0 SP1 : EDA Gatele level simulation

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I'm new with the ModelSim-Altera (i' known well Max+Plus II and the embedded version of simulation in the previous version of Quartus). 

I have readed Quartus Handbook and Help, lot of threads in the Forum but I did’nt found the answer. So I post this one. 

I’ve reduced my problem to the smallest ones to simulate one selector (selector.vhd). After the proposed modification in the Assignments Settings menu (Format for output netlist è vhdl, Map illegal HDL character è on, Compile test bench è T1 for the use of the benches file : “selector_test.vhd”. The EDA Tool settings for simulation are turned on ModelSim-Altera, with VHDL format. 

I’ve no problem with the RTL simulation, but some ones with the gate level ones.Modelsim (ModelSim Altera starter edition 6.5e) write in the transcript aera : 

# Loading instances from selector_vhd.sdo# ** Error: (vsim-SDF-3250) selector_vhd.sdo(0): Failed to find INSTANCE '/selector'.# ** Error: (vsim-SDF-3894) : Errors occured in reading and resolving instances from compiled SDF file(s).# ** Error: (vsim-SDF-3250) selector_vhd.sdo(0): Failed to find INSTANCE '/selector'.# Error loading design# Error: Error loading design # Pausing macro execution # MACRO ./selector_run_msim_gate_vhdl.do PAUSED at line 12 

What i forgot in the settings of Quartus II to use this new EDA-Tools (for me !) 

Thanks and best regards 

EON
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Hello, 

I'm new with the ModelSim-Altera (i' known well Max+Plus II and the embedded version of simulation in the previous version of Quartus).