Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16556 Discussions

Quartus Prime Lite Platform Designer Failed to find module error

CFurr1
Beginner

Hi I am new to Quartus and FPGAs. I am trying to use the Platform Designer and create a NIOS2 simple system but when I go to generate the HDL I get an error of failed to find module. I have tried different modules like memory, JTAG uart and I get the same error. What am I doing work can anyone point me in the right direction?

0 Kudos
14 Replies
MEIYAN_L_Intel
Employee

Hi,

Could you try the Platform Designer Tutorial to generate HDL for Nios II processor in the link below:

https://www.intel.com/content/dam/www/programmable/us/en/pdfs/literature/tt/tt_qsys_intro.pdf

Thanks

0 Kudos
CFurr1
Beginner

Does the NIOS II need a license to work and the HDL file to generate? I followed a similar tutorial with the same results. The Platform Designer shows no errors until I click the generate HDL button then I get the error of can't find module for the system I am making.

0 Kudos
MEIYAN_L_Intel
Employee

Hi,

May I know the information as below:

1. Quartus Prime edition and version
  2. Os version

Thanks

0 Kudos
CFurr1
Beginner
I am using the Lite Version 19.1 running on Ubuntu 16.04
0 Kudos
MEIYAN_L_Intel
Employee

Hi, 

For the Quartus Prime Lite edition is not required license file.

I had try to generate HDL for a system with with step as below: 

1. New Project (in Quartus)

2. Open PLatform Designer

3. Connect the system with clock source and Avalon-MM clock crossing bridge

4. Generate HDL 

It is successfully generate.

May I have the full error message for further investigate?

Thanks

0 Kudos
CFurr1
Beginner