Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16606 Discussions

Reading Data in PC from MAX10 FPGA board

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello everyone, 

Greetings. I'm pretty new in FPGA area and I need a few direction in the right path to proceed with my ongoing project. I'm using MAX 10 evaluation kit and Quartus ii 15.0 web edition as software. 

I'm trying to read data (more specifically bit error rate ) in MATLAB from my FPGA board. I've already installed DSP builder. However I'm concerned with how I should create the interface between PC and FPGA board using the IPs. I have to communicate through the JTAG. I've thought about two methods but really confused which one to adapt. 

(i) I have created my design as avalon mm slave using the slave template provided in altera's website in Qsys. I just added the code for using slave template code with my already existing code. Than I connected the MM slave with JTAG to Avalon MM bridge. However, I think I will run into issues by doing that. First, by creating a slave , I can write or read an address. In my project , all I'm trying to do is read from a memory in the FPGA to PC. So, if I use slave memory address to read, it has to be written first. Can I do the writing in Avalon MM Slave by implementing a custom write function? I can write into an address by using M.write() function in Matlab but that's not what I'm looking from. I have to write the BER in an address and than read calling M.read() function. And writing the BER has to be done from FPGA. But is it possible to write into an avalon mm slave address from the FPGA.