Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16593 Discussions

TimeQuest and Fitter using SDC File

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm fairly new to the Quartus II software environment and the TimeQuest timing analyzer. I have a couple of questions that I'm trying to determine the answers: 

1) Which commands should definitely be placed in the .sdc file? I'm trying to determine if there which commands to use, since the .sdc file is used for both timing-driven place and route and for timing analysis. It seems to be that all clock (including PLLs, etc) and I/O constraints should be placed in the .sdc file, and all other report_timing commands should be placed in separate .tcl scripts. 

2) I'm familiar with Synopsys PrimeTime, so using TimeQuest is fairly straight-forward. However, there are differences in usage. Has anyone generated scripts or docs that described using the TimeQuest commands? I'm particularly interested in constraints applied to PLLs and to I/O. 

Any timing analysis info that you have would be appreciated. 

Thanks, 

Tony
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

1) Which commands should definitely be placed in the .sdc file? I'm trying to determine if there which commands to use, since the .sdc file is used for both timing-driven place and route and for timing analysis. It seems to be that all clock (including PLLs, etc) and I/O constraints should be placed in the .sdc file, and all other report_timing commands should be placed in separate .tcl scripts. 

--- Quote End ---  

Your last sentence is what Altera recommends. In addition, SDC commands like false-path exceptions belong in the .sdc file, and commands like create_timing_netlist should be in a .tcl file for a scripted setup. 

--- Quote Start ---