Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16596 Discussions

another SPI interface timing constraint question

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

This thread describes almost my exact situation: 

http://www.alteraforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=48900 

I have a SPI master state machine that runs at 96MHz (output of PLL from 24MHz external input clock). The state machine generates SPI_SCK at a rate of 24MHz (96MHz/4) with a 50% duty cycle. SPI_CS_N and SPI_MOSI are also generated directly from the state machine. SPI_MOSI transitions are aligned with the rising edge of SPI_SCK (the external slave samples on the falling edge). The state machine samples SPI_MISO at 96MHz aligned with the falling edges of SPI_SCK (slave generates SPI_MISO off rising edges of SPI_SCK). 

I tried the constraints as posted at the end of the thread above: 

create_generated_clock -invert -name SPI_SCK -source [get_pins {main_pll_inst|altpll_component|auto_generated|pll1|clk[2]}] -divide_by 4 [get_ports {SPI_SCK}] 

set_output_delay -clock SPI_SCK -max 0 [get_ports {SPI_MOSI}]# Slave tSU = 0ns 

set_output_delay -clock SPI_SCK -min -2 [get_ports {SPI_MOSI}]# Slave tH = 2ns 

set_input_delay -clock SPI_SCK -max 13 [get_ports {SPI_MISO}]# Slave tCO max = 13ns 

set_input_delay -clock SPI_SCK -min 8 [get_ports {SPI_MISO}]# Slave tCO min = 8ns (not specified, typical is 11ns)