Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16593 Discussions

programmer only sees ethernet blaster, not usb blaster

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hi evryone, am a complete newbie. I run quartus II on win7 x32, but programmer only sees 'ethernet blaster' at 'add hardware', usb blaster is not present at all. There is already a usb blaster folder in the quartus II program files, indicating that it has installed. pls, i need help.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

When you insert the cable into the USB, does it indicates it has found the driver? install the driver located into the altera folder. I face the same problem sometimes , closing the programmer and reopening or re-inserting the usb helps. In your case, most probably the driver is missing.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks. the notifications bar does not indicate anything when the usb cable is inserted. However, I have gone to device manager, it is showing 'The drivers for this device are not installed. (Code 28)'.pls, what can i do.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Install the driver :) 

It will be located in altera/90(or whatever version u are using)/quartus/drivers/usb-blaster/ 

it can be installed through the device manager i think.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Apparently there are High Priests who know the solution to this problem and will not share it with the user community. I am sick and tired of playing Quartus II Roulette to find a driver which works.  

Why is it when I finally get this working, on another day it fails again?  

Yes, I have plugged and unplugged the cable. Yes, I have reinstalled that driver. Yes, I see the USB-blaster in device manager.