Intel® SoC FPGA Embedded Development Suite
Support for SoC FPGA Software Development, SoC FPGA HPS Architecture, HPS SoC Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems
Announcements
Intel Support hours are Monday-Fridays, 8am-5pm PST, except Holidays. Thanks to our community members who provide support during our down time or before we get to your questions. We appreciate you!

Need Forum Guidance? Click here
Search our FPGA Knowledge Articles here.

Running Linux on hps of DE1_SOC

Qazi_Shahid
New Contributor I

Hello all.

I am a newbie and I am trying to run a linux on hps for DE1_SOC. I am using Quartus 18.1 and soc eds 18.1 on windows.

First of all I download a linux console zip file form terasic website and burned the image into sd card using win32diskimager software.

After that I had created a custom system platform designer ( picture is attached here)

Qazi_Shahid_0-1617241432932.png

and programed board using quartus programmer.

Then using bsp-editor tool I create a preloader file from hpsfpa handoff files and used the command “alt-boot-disk-util -p preloader-mkpimage.bin -a write -d D” to load the preloader file into sd card.

When I put sd card into de1 soc board run putty terminal, it is giving error of “reading uboot.scr file”.
How should I create a uboot file, what about the device tree files and how should I tell it to run linux yocto that I had download from teraisc.

I had tried follow the rocketboards workshop on the same topic but they are using some different Qsys system and pre designed files, which I couldn’t map to my custom design.

Any help would be appreciated. ( please keep in mind that I am a newbie and might not understand easily the things that might seems trivial to you).

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
2 Replies
EBERLAZARE_I_Intel

Hi,

I suggest that you read the below on the boot flow of Cyclone V SoC:

https://rocketboards.org/foswiki/Documentation/GSRDBootFlow