Intel® Software Guard Extensions (Intel® SGX)
Discussion board focused on hardware-based isolation and memory encryption to provide extended code protection in solutions.

SGX Initial Communication

Gerhard_M_
Beginner

Hello,

I am a researcher and have a question regarding the communication initialization with the SGX as a remote application. I understood it to be the following process, so please correct me if I am mistaken.

1. Check that the SGX is available and enabled
  2. Create an enclave with a chosen application
  3. Request an attestation report to verify the identity of the SGX and the correctness of the application
    1. The attestation contains an EREPORT structure as well as a manifest
    2. The manifest contains a newly created public key to continue secure communication
  4. Use the enclave as intended

My main concern is creating this secure channel with the SGX. Did I understand it correctly that the public key is newly created for the enclave and has no affiliation to any of the EPID keys? If that is the case then I would also like to know how long that key exists as it has been described as "ephemeral". Is this just for initiating communication and a separate key exchange should be called afterwards? Or can I keep using that key for the duration of the lifecycle of the enclave?

Thanks in advance and have a nice day,

G.M.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Anusha_K_Intel
Employee

Hi,

The ephemeral public/private key is different from EPID key.

Once the server has been authenticated, the enclave can generate an ephemeral public/private key pair and include the public key in the user data portion of the report. This key is used to pass the encryption key from the server to the enclave and after the encryption key has been shared it is not required. hence it is used only for session establishment and not for the entire life cycle of the enclave.

you can find the detailed information in the secret Provisioning section of this document.