Intel® Software Guard Extensions (Intel® SGX)
Discussion board focused on hardware-based isolation and memory encryption to provide extended code protection in solutions.

sgx enclave without debug

itsNick
Beginner

Hello community!

I have a laptop with i7 7700HQ cpu, that doesnt support FLC. I'm just studying how sgx works for educational purpose (I have to write the thesis about it) and I wanted to try some example code using all sgx capabilities, so without the debug option enabled. So I tried to launch the SealUnseal example in pre-release (I set to 1 the disable debug flag, passed 0 as second parameter of sgx_create_enclave and run the make file with those options: SGX_PRERELEASE=1 SGX_DEBUG=0 SGX_MODE=HW ), but when I launch the app it gives me the 0x4004 error code, does it mean that I have to get the enclave signed by intel as if it is in release mode ?. Is there any way to launch enclave not in debug mode without the needed to ask intel to sign my enclave?

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Sahira_Intel

Hi,

You cannot launch the enclave in non-debug mode (also called production mode) without Intel signing the enclave.

You were getting the 4004 error code because the enclave was not authorized to run. You cannot pass 0 as the second parameter of SGX_CREATE_ENCLAVE unless the enclave was signed by Intel.

To run in Pre-Release mode, you only need to run the makefile with the following options: SGX_PRERELEASE=1 SGX_DEBUG=0 SGX_MODE=HW. The DisableDebug flag in the enclave config file must remain 0 when running in Pre-release mode. Change the SGX_DEBUG_FLAG to 0 only when you are running your enclave in production mode, signed by Intel.

Read Intel SGX Build Configurations for more details.

In Summary, to run in PRE-RELEASE mode:

1. Set DisableDebug 0 in enclave.config.xml