Intel® oneAPI Data Parallel C++
Support for Intel® oneAPI DPC++ Compiler, Intel® oneAPI DPC++ Library, Intel® DPC++ Compatibility Tool, and GDB*
550 Discussions

SYCL program stops when declarating queue but gives no error or output (works in the VS Debugger)

frmar
Beginner

I am new to SYCL and I am trying to execute a very simple code. Here it is:

#include <CL/sycl.hpp>
using namespace sycl;

int main() {
    default_selector device_selector;
    std::cout << "Device selector has been initialized.\n";

queue q(device_selector);
    std::cout << "Queue has been initialized.\n";

return 0;
}

I am using Visual Studio 2019 and I am compilating with Intel oneAPI DPC++ 2022. If I run the code in the Visual Studio Debugger, I obtain:

> Device selector has been initialized.
> Queue has been initialized.
> Sortie de C:\Users\...\Release\test.exe (processus 8516). Code : 0.
> Press any key to continue...

So this is perfectly what I am expecting. But if I run the same .exe in my command prompt, I obtain:

> C:\Users\...\Release>test.exe
> Device selector has been initialized.
>
> C:\Users\...\Release>

It appears that an error occured during the declaration of the queue.  But what I get back is nothing, no error, just as if the program ran perfectly.

I have also noticed that during the short time when the program is running in the command prompt (something like one second), I saw that the program Windows Problem Reporting ran in the Task Manager. Than it vanished as soon as the program apparently finished to compute.

I also tried this code:

#include <CL/sycl.hpp>
using namespace sycl;

int main() {
    default_selector device_selector;
    std::cout << "Device selector has been initialized.\n";

try {
        queue q(device_selector);
    } catch (...) {
        std::cout << "There's an error! Maybe.\n";
    }

std::cout << "Queue has been initialized.\n";

return 0;
}

The output was exactly the same.

If someone has a hint or an idea, I would be pleased to read it.