Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.
6977 Discussions

Compiling Fortran BLAS and LAPACK interfaces for using with gfortran

Michael_B_19
Beginner
Hi. I hope that someone can offer some help with using the MKL BLAS and LAPACK interfaces with gfortran. When I code in a compiled language, it is always in C, and I have no Fortran experience at all. However, I have a need to link some Fortran code to MKL (someone else's code, someone else's makefile), and I am having trouble figuring out how create the gfortran-specific interface libraries for blas95.mod and lapack95.mod. For compatibility reasons, I need to use gfortran, and cannot depend on the Intel precompiled interface modules.
(Note: I'm on a 2010-vintage Mac Pro with 2 6-core Xeon 5670 processors, running Snow Leopard 10.6.4).
Now, I see that on page 7-4 of the MKL Users Guide for MacOSX, there is a suggestion to run something like:

make libem64t FC=pgf95 INSTALL_DIR= interface=lp64

That's simple enough, except that I need FC=gfortran. When I set that flag, I get the errors

f951: error: unrecognized command line option "-module"
f951: error: unrecognized command line option "-auto"
So what it looks like the makefile is doing is calling gfortran using ifort options. When I went into the makefile, it seems to support FC=ifort or FC=pgf95 (whatever that is), but there are no FC=gfortran options. I have played around with the makefile a bit (e.g., replacing -module with -J), and the make script ran, but all I got was a libmkl_blas95_ilp64.a file in the $INSTALL_DIR, and no .mod file. Now, maybe this is OK, and maybe it's not. I have no idea.
I also checked the Intel Knowledgebase, and found an article with the following text:
"Customer should use option /module:path (in Windows environment) or -module path (in Linux and Mac OS) when building the application with Intel Fortran Compiler ( ** ).