Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

Intel VML slow

sdgkgp
Beginner
Hi,

I am a newbie so please bear with me if I provide irrelevant details.

I am trying to achieve the speeds reported in:
http://software.intel.com/sites/products/documentation/hpc/mkl/vml/functions/_performanceall.html

for the log function vsLn()

My simple C script containsjust one call to vsLn()

I compile it on windows using:

g++ -I"C:/PROGRA~1/R/R-212~1.1/include" -I"C:/Progra~1/Intel/ComposerXE-2011/mkl
/include" -O2 -Wall -c MKLvml_main.cc -o MKLvml_main.o

g++ -shared -s -static-libgcc -o MKLvml.dll tmp.def MKLvml_main.o C:/Progra~1/In
tel/ComposerXE-2011/mkl/lib/ia32/mkl_intel_c_dll.lib C:/Progra~1/Intel/ComposerX
E-2011/mkl/lib/ia32/mkl_sequential_dll.lib C:/Progra~1/Intel/ComposerXE-2011/mkl
/lib/ia32/mkl_core_dll.lib C:/Progra~1/Intel/ComposerXE-2011/mkl/lib/ia32/mkl_rt
.lib -LC:/PROGRA~1/R/R-212~1.1/bin/i386 -lR

As you can see I am using sequential library. I also tried parallel and the results are the same.

Can someone please suggest what I can do to improve the speed?

Currently 10^8 log operations (in a loop of 10^3 iterations each computing the log of a 10^5 long vector) takes around 6s. Expected is less than .5s.

( The results I am getting are just 2x improvement over the default log calculation. I am working inside R just FYI.)

Thanks.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Andrey_G_Intel2
Employee
We will try to reproduce your situation. But I can say right now, that you measured not vsLn performance only. You measured overheads for MKL dlls loading, call to vmlSetMode and maybe some other overheads were included to your measurements.

Andrey

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
12 Replies
Andrey_G_Intel2
Employee
Hi sdgkgp!

could you provide little bit more details?
1) your sample program will be helpful for us
2) at with CPU you are running your sample?

Andrey
0 Kudos
Gennady_F_Intel