Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

Must the Block in sparse BSR format be Square?

cui__zhihao
Beginner

Dear all,

I am new to the MKL sparse blas, and want to use BSR as my sparse matrix format.

I notice that the block_size is specified by an integer. Does this mean the block must be a square matrix?

Is there a way to specify a non-square block in BSR?

Best,

Zhihao

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Spencer_P_Intel
Employee

Hi Zhihao,

Yes, the way that BSR format is currently defined and implemented, the block part of the BSR matrix is a square dense matrix.  Typical use cases are 2x2 or 3x3, but in reality it could be any square size.  Currently there is not a way to specify a non square block in the BSR matrix format.  I am not familiar with any use cases where that would even make sense.  Can you describe a little what you are trying to do?

Best,

Spencer

0 Kudos
Connor_Wong
Beginner

@Spencer_P_Intel It is indeed possible to have non-square block sizes. Is there any way we can make a formal request to the Intel MKL developer team to support non-square blocks?

0 Kudos
Kirill_V_Intel
Employee

Hi @Connor_Wong,

Such a request already exists but is not a small thing to add. @Gennady_F_Intel can help you with the official request so that you will be added to the group of customers who requested it.

Best,
Kirill

0 Kudos
cui__zhihao
Beginner

Spencer P. (Intel) wrote:

Hi Zhihao,

Yes, the way that BSR format is currently defined and implemented, the block part of the BSR matrix is a square dense matrix.  Typical use cases are 2x2 or 3x3, but in reality it could be any square size.  Currently there is not a way to specify a non square block in the BSR matrix format.  I am not familiar with any use cases where that would even make sense.  Can you describe a little what you are trying to do?

Best,

Spencer

Thanks for your reply, Spencer.