Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

Pardiso for interior point method

hgfang
Beginner

Hi all. I am writing an interior point algorithm for linear programming and trying to use Pardiso as the linear system solver. I am new to the Pardiso and have some questions:

- I want to apply Cholesky factorization for a matrix AA^T. CHOLMOD (a popular Cholesky factorization subroutine, but does not support multi-core computing) allows me to factorize AA^T without directly form the matrix AA^T, that is I can do something like 'cholesky(A, args)' and I don't need to compute AA^T. I wonder if Pardiso also supports this functionality? Or I must form the matrix AA^T by myself and then feed it to Pardiso?

- Does Pardiso support Cholesky-like factorization for symmetric quasi-definite matrices?

- It seems that Pardiso is widely used for interior point method. Is there any documentation available to understand how to use Pardiso for interior point method? 

Thanks for your time!

Best,

Huang Fang

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Kirill_V_Intel
Employee

Hello!

1) About A * A^T.

PARDISO does not support the case when the input matrix is a symmetric product A A^T. So, to use PARDISO, you would need to create A*A^T as a CSR matrix (e.g. using mkl_sparse_syrk).

But, there is another approach using QR, and we have separate Sparse QR functionality on oneMKL. See, e.g. https://math.stackexchange.com/questions/2547431/cholesky-decomposition-for-aat.

You can compute QR of A^T and then A*A^T = RQ^T * QR = R^T R = your triangular decomposition as R is upper triangular. I am not sure, but it is possible this is exactly what happens in the original CHOLMOD by Tim Davis for A * A^T.

For Sparse QR in oneMKL, see https://software.intel.com/content/www/us/en/develop/documentation/onemkl-developer-reference-c/top/blas-and-sparse-blas-routines/sparse-qr-routines.html.