Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

Pardiso solver much slower when using MPI?

Ferris_H_
Beginner

My cluster has 24 cpus/node with 256GB ram and Infiniband. We have mpich, mvapich2, openmpi, impi all installed.

I studied the example cl_solver_sym_sp_0_based_c.c in cluster_sparse_solverc/source . I compiled it using:

make libintel64 example=cl_solver_sym_sp_0_based_c

It runs fine . However the matrix is too small to look at performance. So I modified the example to read in a 3million^2 matrix from a text file. When I run it without any mpi, using just:

./cl_solver_sym_sp_0_based_c

It solves quickly and factors the matrix in 30 seconds. A 'top' command shows the CPU % go to 2400%.

If I try and do mpirun or mpiexec -np 24 ./cl_solver_sym_sp_0_based_c , then the factorization takes nearly 10X longer! A "top" shows each process using 100%cpu.

I think I am doing something wrong with mpirun/mpiexec ? I would expect it give the same factorization times as just running it directly? I tried also playing around the OMP_NUM_THREADS variable. But nothing seemed to improve the factorization times. Here is some output of my history:

926  mpiexec -np2 /cl_solver_sym_sp_0_based_c.exe
  927  mpiexec -np 2 ./cl_solver_sym_sp_0_based_c.exe
  928  module avail
  929  module lad mvapich2-2.1rc2-intel-16.0
  930  module load mvapich2-2.1rc2-intel-16.0
  931  mpiexec -np 2 ./cl_solver_sym_sp_0_based_c.exe
  932  mpdboot
  933  mpiexec -np 2 ./cl_solver_sym_sp_0_based_c.exe
  934  export OMP_NUM_THREADS=1
  935  mpiexec -np 12 ./cl_solver_sym_sp_0_based_c.exe
  936  export OMP_NUM_THREADS=24
  937  mpiexec -np 1 ./cl_solver_sym_sp_0_based_c.exe
  938  mpirun -V
  939  mpirun -np 1 ./cl_solver_sym_sp_0_based_c.exe
  940  export OMP_NUM_THREADS=4
  941  mpirun -np 6 ./cl_solver_sym_sp_0_based_c.exe
  942  export OMP_NUM_THREADS=6
  943  mpirun -np 4 ./cl_solver_sym_sp_0_based_c.exe