Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

Sparse Blas Storage

sicb0161
Beginner
Hi,

I am a newbie in using the Intel MKL. As I am dealing with matrices and vectors of which contents are not known beforehand.

1. No matter what level of BLAS I use, I need to determine the number nonzero elements nz and their corresponding indices *indx. I would like to know if there is a fast method provided by the Intel MKL to determine the inputs nz and the indices pointed by *indx for the gthr function or do I have to program this by myself? What about sparse matrices?
  2. After having determined the necessary indices and the number of non zero elements, I want to use all BLAS from one to three. Is that possible and what do I have to consider when mixing BLAS 1 with BLAS 2,3 ?

Thx in advance,
Cem
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Sergey_K_Intel1
Employee
Quoting - sicb0161
Hi,

I am a newbie in using the Intel MKL. As I am dealing with matrices and vectors of which contents are not known beforehand.

1. No matter what level of BLAS I use, I need to determine the number nonzero elements nz and their corresponding indices *indx. I would like to know if there is a fast method provided by the Intel MKL to determine the inputs nz and the indices pointed by *indx for the gthr function or do I have to program this by myself? What about sparse matrices?
  2. After having determined the necessary indices and the number of non zero elements, I want to use all BLAS from one to three. Is that possible and what do I have to consider when mixing BLAS 1 with BLAS 2,3 ?

Thx in advance,
Cem

Dear Cem,