Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

VisualStudio08/Pardiso Beginner Question

mamey4
Beginner
Hi,

I'm a beginner to Visual Studio and Pardiso, and >I'm trying to get the coding example C-6 of the MKL Reference Manual working in a Visual Studio 2008 Fortran project. I copied the code, set the include directory to ...\\mkl\\include\\ and the lib directory to mkl\\em64t\\lib. Then I added mkl_core_dll.lib as an additional dependency to the project.
Now, when I try to build the project, the pardiso-call in the source code can't be executed, I'm getting a linker error LNK2019 about an "unresolved symbol _PARDISO". I'm using Intel Fortran 11.0 Compiler.
Do you know how I can make this work? Thanks in advance for your comments.

Martin
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Gennady_F_Intel
Martin,
you have to link withmkl_intel_lp64_dll.lib mkl_intel_thread_dll.lib mkl_core_dll.lib libiomp5md.lib.

but actually, I have anothersuggestionfor beginner user - I would recomend you to start with the PARDISO examples which are ready to use. You can find "C" and "Fortran" examples in the \examples\solvers directory ( version of MKL 10.3.2).
--Gennady
0 Kudos
mecej4
Honored Contributor III
From the leading underscore in _PARDISO I suspect that you may be mixing 32 and 64 bit objects and/or libraries in your project. The symbol should be simply PARDISO in a 64-bit build.

Cleaning and rebuilding may get rid of the 32-bit objects.
0 Kudos
TimP
Honored Contributor III
Quoting mecej4
From the leading underscore in _PARDISO I suspect that you may be mixing 32 and 64 bit objects and/or libraries in your project. The symbol should be simply PARDISO in a 64-bit build.

Cleaning and rebuilding may get rid of the 32-bit objects.

If the project has been designated as X64
0 Kudos
mamey4
Beginner
First of all thanks, I got the example program working by linking to the above mentioned files.