Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Concurrent_queue push when full behavior

Ender1618
Beginner

Im completely new to TBB, so please forgive my ignorance.

Is there any way to have concurrent_queue drop the oldest item in the queue (if its reached its max size) on a push instead off blocking, and in a different usage is there a method for the queue to just not add to the new item on a push if its reached its max size?

The idea is to have a producer consumer throttling method, my data is a stream and i can afford drops if the consumer can't keep up with the producer. Since the producer can produce at a variable rate (typically steady, but it can spike).

I use this method in my own concurrent queue, with native threads running the producer and consumer. I just wondered if this would be possible using the TBB concurent_queue, as i am considering replacing most of my native threading code with TBB, and I need these behaviors.

Thanks

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Ender1618
Beginner

Forgive me i meant concurrent bounded queue, not concurrent queue.

0 Kudos
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III

Have you considered writing your own specialized ring buffer? (IOW - push when full implies pre-pop and discard)

Jim Dempsey

0 Kudos
robert-reed
Valued Contributor II

Does it have to be the oldest entry?  You could switch the push() for a try_push() and discard the newest on failure.  Or if not, how about a wrapper that does something like a "while (!try_push(item)) {pop(discard)}"?

0 Kudos
Ender1618
Beginner

jimdempseyatthecove wrote:

Have you considered writing your own specialized ring buffer? (IOW - push when full implies pre-pop and discard)

Jim Dempsey

How would you create a specialized ring buffer that has the same TBB concurent lockless properties of concurrent bounded queue? Is there a way to specialize concurrent bounded queue?

0 Kudos