Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.
2464 Discussions

Expressing parallel tbb::filter using tbb::flow::function_node?

Nick_Chen
Beginner
I'm new to thetbb::flow graph and am trying to learn how to use the different nodes. As part of the learning process, I'm trying to see what is the equivalent of the following program that I have written using tbb::pipeline in tbb:Lflow.

The program is FERRET, a content-based image retrieval system from the PARSEC benchmark. The image below illustrates the different stages. The first and last stages are serial; the remaining stages are parallel. I've made each stage extend tbb::filter and marked it as serial/parallel as appropriate.

I then tried to implement it using tbb::flow and the different graph_nodes available. The first stage is a source_node (serial by default); the middle stages are function_nodes with queuing policy and flow::unlimited concurrency; the last stage is a function_node with 1 as the concurrency limit (serial).Here's the pseudo-code:

[cpp]/////////////////////////////////////////////
// Create pipeline stages as tbb::flow graph
/////////////////////////////////////////////
tbb::flow::graph cbir;

tbb::flow::source_node input(cbir, Read( query_dir, &cnt_enqueue ) );
tbb::flow::function_node segmenter( cbir, tbb::flow::unlimited, SegmentImage() );
tbb::flow::function_node extracter( cbir, tbb::flow::unlimited, ExtractFeatures() );
tbb::flow::function_node querier( cbir, tbb::flow::unlimited, QueryIndex( ... ) );
tbb::flow::function_node ranker( cbir, tbb::flow::unlimited, RankCandidates( ... ) );
tbb::flow::function_node writer( cbir, 1, Write( ... ) );

///////////////////
// Chain up stages 
///////////////////

tbb::flow::make_edge(input, segmenter);
tbb::flow::make_edge(segmenter, extracter);
tbb::flow::make_edge(extracter, querier);
tbb::flow::make_edge(querier, ranker);