Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

TBB & Parallel patterns

ndepalma
Beginner
I'm somewhat new to TBB and as a floating question in my head I've been thinking about parallel patterns and how they map to TBB patterns. Some are easeier than others for instance:

Divide & Conquer maps well to parallel_for/while
Pipes - pipeline/filters

so for languages like Erlang, and packages like MPI, message passing is the basis of the parallel architecture which implies that there is a message pump between the "threads"

SO my question:

For patterns like message-passing, Layers, and especially master-worker (common for me), what best TBB tool can I use easily? Should I be looking at anyting in particular? I never really understood "task" classes - is there a way I can spawn a task that waits for commands like a worker? I could easily implement message pumps no problem, but how would I implement the worker/master threads heterogeneously. Thanks a bunch for any help or direction!

~Nick
0 Kudos
3 Replies
ARCH_R_Intel
Employee

There is no support for message-passing in TBB. During the design of TBB, we investigated many different approaches. What we settled on, largely inspired by Cilk, is an approach that yield good cache locality, good space bounds, load balancing, full support for nested parallelism, and could be implemented efficiently as a pure C++ library. Message passing, though definitely useful in some contexts, did not have all the properties we were looking for.

That's not meant to disparage message-passing. A language like Erlang that has compiler support for message passing can do it very well. And MPI's message passing is certainly appropriate for writing programs that run on distributed-memory machines, albeit at some cost in programmer labor.