Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.
2464 Discussions

Tutorial for concurrent_queue with parallel_while?

ijfk
Beginner
As stated before, I'm quite new to TBB and trying to write some example projects to get familiar and measure performance.

One thing that I'd like to do, is to utlilize "parallel_while" in combination with a concurrent_queue. The idea is that a network server constantly adds items to the queue, which is in turn processed in parallel by parallel_while.

I cannot seem to figure it out, and I also cannot seem to find any documentation.

I'm currently stuck at trying to get an iterator to the queue, doing something like this:

concurrent_queue <:STRING> fileQueue;
concurrent_queue <:STRING>::iterator myIt = fileQueue.begin();

which yields

error C2039: 'begin' : is not a member of 'tbb::strict_ppl::concurrent_queue'
with
[
T=std::string
]

I'm not sure why there wouldn't be a begin() member. Are there any examples somebody could point me to? Again, I'd just like to process queue items (order of processing is not relevant) in parallel.

Thanks.
0 Kudos
9 Replies
RafSchietekat
Valued Contributor III
I guess you mean parallel_do() instead of parallel_while(). It used to be that parallel_while() worked with concurrent_queue() the way you intend to use them, but that code has been deprecated, although you could consult the Reference for the details on how to still use it. Alternatively, you could write an adapter iterator type yourself.
0 Kudos
ijfk
Beginner
Thank you.

OK, I would use parallel_do then.

In regards to the queue, is the only way to get items out of the queue to call try_pop() or to use the const_iterator?
0 Kudos
Alexey-Kukanov
Employee