Intel vPro® Platform
Intel Manageability Forum for Intel® EMA, AMT, SCS & Manageability Commander
2827 Discussions

AMT help needed

BNack
Beginner

Hi,

I am new to the Intel Communities. I have a question about AMT. I am not sure this is the correct forum. If its not, please let me know where it should be POSTed and I will move it.

To begin, I am not a network administrator nor any kind of network guru. I am a test technician in an engineering environment. We are currently testing a new single board computer (SBC) that we designed that includes AMT.

I have set AMT up on the SBC that we are testing (I will call it the client) and am using WebUI to test basic functionality. With WebUI, I can see all the client details. I can also reset, cycle power off & on and power down the computer.

The problem is that when I power down the client using WebUI, the client machine reacts like power was pulled for a second...it just goes down. Windows does not do a clean shutdown and I lose the connection from WebUI to the client and so can't power the machine back up.

If I power down the client locally, then Windows powers down cleanly and I can still connect to the client from WebUI and turn the power back on.

I am sure I have something not configured correctly or not configured at all.

Help!!!

0 Kudos
5 Replies
idata
Employee

AMT power commands all work at the hardware level, independent of the OS. So, when you tell a system to power down from the WebUI it bypasses the OS to do this. This is by design, allowing you to shut down a system even if the OS is not responding. Likewise with the power reset option, it will do a hard reset. If you want to do a graceful shutdown of Windows your best bet is to use the windows shutdown command.