Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

Newbie question: driving leds

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello everybody! 

I'm an absolute newbie in Altera / NIOS. 

I have an NEEK with Cyclon III and touch panel LCD. 

But for the time being, I am studying the basics. 

I have been through the document "my first NIOS II software" tutorial. 

Downloaded and installed recently the NIOS 9.1 and Quartus 9.1, both with 

their latest service packs. I downloaded the proper application (that goes together 

with the tutorial). 

Basically the application works. I have added the proper code to blink the LED and 

it works. 

Now as there are 4 leds, I modified like this : 

(The only modification is count & 0x0F instead of count & 0x01). 

while(1) { 

IOWR_ALTERA_AVALON_PIO_DATA(LED_PIO_BASE, count & 0x0F); 

delay = 0; 

while(delay < 2000000) { 

delay++; 

count++; 

I thought (naively) that if I give the 4 last bits to this macro, it would make a 

binary counter with the LEDS 1 to 4. However, it does nothing more than it used 

to, it seems that only the last bit is taken into account. If I simply use "count", without 

anding it with 0x01, it works the same. 

Am I missing something? Is there a configuration somewhere that enables or disables 

LEDS 2, 3 and 4? 

Thanks for any hint! 

Pascal
0 Kudos
14 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Pascal. Have you corrected the pinning? In the Example Designs there are fault Pin-Assignements for the LEDs. Try to correct them and try again. The Pins you can find in the reference_manual for the NEEK. 

Edit: I have looked that up you can find a running example under NIOS_Evaluation_Kit_v8.0\cycloneIII_3c25_niosII\examples\cycloneIII_3c25_start_my_first_fpga the Pins are: 

PIN_P13 

PIN_P12 <- this is wrong in "standard" it's PIN_T1 there