Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12634 Discussions

Nios V juart-terminal Continuously Returns EOF with getchar();

kyeh
Beginner

Hello all,

I am fairly new to working with FPGAs so please be gentle.

We are utilizing the Cyclone 10 GX Development Kit and programmed the Nios V IP to act as our microprocessor. The µC/OS-II is being used as the real-time operating system. We are currently developing with Quartus 23.3.

The prototype "interface" we are currently using is just a while loop with a getchar(); function and a couple switch statements for different functions based on which button you press. The getchar() function continuously returns an EOF signal which I see in the RiscFree debugger as -1. On juart-terminal, this symbol shows as an unknown ASCII character with a int value of 255. We have also used alt_getchar() as recommended by the Nios V Processor Development Handbook but the issue persists.

Previously, this signal would occasionally show up during start up but currently it appears to be a constant input in juart-terminal. I have implemented conditional statements to ignore ASCII inputs outside the range of normal keyboard operations but it seems like a temporary fix. Any recommended strategies to assist with debugging?

0 Kudos
8 Replies
aikeu
Employee

Hi kyeh,

Can you provide some log as reference regarding the output from the console?

Thanks.

Regards,

Aik Eu

0 Kudos
aikeu
Employee

Hi kyeh,

May I know any follow up from the previous comment?

Thanks.

Regards,

Aik Eu

0 Kudos
kyeh
Beginner

Hello aikeu,

Apologies for the delay. The program is based off the simple_socket_server example. In juart-terminal, the EOF char returns as an unrecognized char. When I use the %d declaration in alt_printf(), it returns the value 255.

kyeh_1-1719587101790.png