OpenCL* for CPU
Ask questions and share information on Intel® SDK for OpenCL™ Applications and OpenCL™ implementations for Intel® CPU.
Announcements
This forum covers OpenCL* for CPU only. OpenCL* for GPU questions can be asked in the GPU Compute Software forum. Intel® FPGA SDK for OpenCL™ questions can be ask in the FPGA Intel® High Level Design forum.
1719 Discussions

Is branch divergence as much of a concern with Intel Graphics as it is with other GPUs

Ben_Rush
Beginner

I'm new to GPU development and targeting the heavily SIMD-nature of GPUs. I have read a fair amount about branch divergence, and how excessive conditional branching in logic executed on GPUs can cause stalling of GPU threads. I'm assuming the answer is yes, but is this still a concern when targeting Intel Graphics w/ OpenCL? 

I ask because we have a lot of code we're trying to offload, some of which has a large quantity of branch conditionals. I'm assuming a general algorithm rewrite is going to be necessary or else we'll find ourselves operating even slower on the GPU. 

Are there good patterns/practices for mitigating the effects of conditionals? Or is it just a generally accepted notion that you shouldn't have any for GPU code? 

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Robert_I_Intel
Employee

Hi Ben,

In short, yes. On how to deal with lots of branches: the typical question is why you have lots of branches?

a) If you are trying to handle boundary conditions there are couple of things you could do: 1) use images instead of buffers since they handle boundary conditions and out of bound accesses for you; 2) pad your buffers for out-of-bound accesses; 3) separate bounds handling into a separate kernels.

b) if your algorithm is inherently branchy, maybe you need to rethink your algorithm.

0 Kudos
Ben_Rush
Beginner

Thanks for your response, again.