Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14985 Discussions

Having to underclock my 13900k to run blender

flynnholland
Beginner

Hi, I have bought a 13900K as an upgrade from my AMD 3600 CPU and I am a 3D Artist that works within blender. Ever since I have bought the 13900K CPU, Blender has been incredibly unstable, Crashing randomly every 5 minutes, crashing when moving the armature around in pose mode or crashing while trying to render. 

All these frustrations let me down a path of trying to fix this issue and the only thing that has made this 13900K CPU remotely stable is by under-clocking the base speed to 3GHz. I have tried undervolting, Changing the base clock speeds but anytime I do my PC will be even more unstable. 

What is the point of buying the 13900K when its incredibly unstable? I am forced to make this CPU under-clocked at a speed no greater than my AMD 3600.

Crash logs from blender are provided.

SPECS of my machine:
13900K CPU
GIGABYTE Z790 UD AX LGA1700 ATX MOTHERBOARD
64GB DDR5 CORSAIR RAM
RTX 4090 GPU
1200W PSU

I have also done the following to make sure there arent any issues with other PC components: 

Updated my motherboard to the latest drivers

Memtestx86 and both sticks passed.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
ShunMnzed
New Contributor I

hello there @flynnholland