Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20693 Discussions

5v TTL to/from LVTTL

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I need to work with ancient 5v TTL digital components built on 74xx series chips and would like to know, how to covert LVTTL voltage from Stratix II to 5v TTL and back? 

Any good known way to do this?
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Voltage translators :-)

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Voltage translators :-) 

--- Quote End ---  

Which one? I'm newbie here :(
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

There are several solutions; 

1) If your signals are unidirectional, or are bidirectional, but you have a direction control bit, then you can use 5V tolerant buffers; these devices are powered from 3.3V, but can handle 5V on their pins. 

If the 5V devices you are communicating are TTL compatible, then these 3.3V translators can work fine.  

You need to check the VIH and VIL limits of the 5V logic are met by the buffer. 

If you only have a few I/O lines, then look at the TinyLogic devices from Fairchild, and TI (TinyLogic is the Fairchild name). Look in a translator guide and you'll find examples of 8-bit, 16-bit, etc devices. 

2) If you have to attach a 3.3V device to a bidirectional bus, and you do not know which direction the signals on the bus are going to be, then you can protect your 3.3V logic using a bus switch. The bus switch will pass the traffic on the 5V bus through itself, and clamp the highs to below 3.3V.  

So what is it you need? 

Cheers, 

Dave
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

All signals are unidirectional.  

I need to connect 5v TTL to 3.3 LVTTL FPGA and not to burn FPGA input driver accidentally :)
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

All signals are unidirectional.  

I need to connect 5v TTL to 3.3 LVTTL FPGA and not to burn FPGA input driver accidentally :) 

--- Quote End ---