Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20641 Discussions

Altera product for network traffic processing

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello. 

Our company is interested in low-latency implementation of some application-level network protocols (say, FIX or FAST financial protocols and/or some other broker firm usages of fpga, e.g. risk calculation). 

We're going to reseach fpga applicability to our particular needs. 

So we basically need to receive data from network controller (Ethernet 10G or Infiniband), perform some processing and to send it back to the network. Some parameters, needed for calculations, must be loaded from host PC while initializing the application. 

I need to decide which of Altera product will match to our needs, but I have no experience. i'm very sorry, but i'm also new to low-level digital curcuits (I'm a high-level languages programmer). 

Do I need a FPGA or SoC? I can see Ethernet ports on "FPGA" products.  

Do these boards contain full-featured Ethernet chips or just PHY chips and i have to implement ethernet inside fpga? I saw examples of Ethernet MAC level implementation. In this case i have to connect ethernet ip (intell. property) core to some pins of the fpga, which are connected to ethernet chip, according to the specification on particular Altera fpga? 

In any case i'd like to get TCP/IP out-of the box. I saw some third-party commercial IP cores at Altera site. 

Can they be integrated to any my fpga project (and be connected inside fpga to ethernet ip core)? 

On the other hand, all Altera SoC products contain HPS (ARM general purpose CPU) and some kind of OS, am i right? And there is Altera network stack implementation out of the box (not in fpga, but in software). 

So i can write an application in C, which runs on general purpose CPU, but when receiving network TCP packets i can pass them to FPGA, using Avalon API? And i can also interact with host computer?