Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20704 Discussions

Communication between NIOSII core and HDL (Verilog) module- Cyclone IVGX

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Though I have some background with programming, it is very less when it comes to understanding hardware specifications and resulting functionalities. Therefore even after going through NIOSII reference handbooks, I have to post this question. 

problem. I need to create a working model of a NIOSII core communicating (exchanging data bits) with another sequential HDL module in the FPGA. So I create a NIOSII (block symbol file) with 8bit wide pio(output) and another block symbol file of a Verilog module that accepts 8 bit wide input and stores it in a register. 

I then create new project with a Block Diagram file as top level entity and have both the blocks (NIOSII and HDL) connected through a bus . 

My question is, is this the desired way of exchanging data for my scenario, or are there any other clever and more efficient means to do so. 

PS:Why I haven't tried it on the hardware and checked yet is because I am getting errors while implementing a simple NIOSII on the FPGA which I am dealing with separately. Just want to make sure that my though process for my problem is correct.
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

a much better way is to use the Altera Avalon Bus. 

Have a look at this document: 

https://www.altera.com/content/dam/altera-www/global/en_us/pdfs/literature/manual/mnl_avalon_spec.pdf 

Implementing a memory mapped avalon interface is easy, you can use the PIO as reference design(written in Verilog). 

Greets  

Olaf
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

"Implementing a memory mapped avalon interface is easy, you can use the PIO as reference design(written in Verilog)."