Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20704 Discussions

Cyclone V flashing LEDs and clock (Verilog)

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello everyone and really nice and glad to meet all of you, 

i am new to FPGA programming (i am a software developer which found this world of FPGA REALLY interesting to learn) and i wanted to ask a 'dummy' type of question. I am trying (using Verilog) to flash the LED on my board (Terasic Cyclone V GX Starter Kit) and i am using a counter in my design in order to perform the clock down. From my understanding up to now this board has a 50MHz clock which you can clock up or down using a PLL. Since i don't know how to use the PLL in order to clock down i have used a counter...if i wanted to use the PLL but i didn't wanted to use a Quartus MegaFunction is there any other way to synthesize the PLL? 

I am sorry if my question sounds dummy but my previous experience on this hobby of mine was on Arduino and ARM boards go easy one me. :) 

Best regards and 

thank you so much in advance.
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You're doing the right thing - dividing down the clock with a counter. 

--- Quote Start ---  

if i wanted to use the PLL but i didn't wanted to use a Quartus MegaFunction 

--- Quote End ---  

If you want to instantiate a PLL I strongly recommend you use the MegaFunction/MegaCore Wizards. You can instantiate them in other ways. However, with little/no experience you should use the tools that are there to prevent you making mistakes. 

Note: in Cyclone V the lowest frequency you can generate from the PLL is 5MHz. So, to flash that LED - in a manner in which you can see it flashing - you will still need the counter. 

Cheers, 

Alex
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---