Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20641 Discussions

FIR II core IP outputs incorrect data.

alperenpalp
Novice

Hello,

It's my first time using intel's FIR filter IP and I'm having difficulties getting it working.

I basically want to low-pass filter the data coming from the ADC (LTC2387) using FIR II IP. The filter is fractional rate filter.

Here are some of the filter specs:

Input sampling rate: 15 MSPS

Filter clock : 60 MHz

Coeffs: 51 taps, 16-bit signed binary

Input 16-bit singed binary

Output: 36-bit signed binary.

The data coming from the ADC is in 2's complement, and therefore firstly I convert it to signed binary(bit magnitude) and feed the converted data to the filter's input.

To make sure that everything's working I make the input to the filter constant and observe the output, expecting that the output stays constant as well, but it doesn't.

The input is constant -256 (FF00h in 2s complement 8100h in signed magnitude) and the output looks quite random as you can see in the attachment.

I also attached the archieve file which include the filter I am using. The filter is in pre_process_20MSPS.vhd file along with the conversion from 2's comlement to singed magnitude process.

What am I doing wrong?

0 Kudos
1 Solution
CheePin_C_Intel
Employee

Hi,

Would you mind to help opening a new thread on this. Thank you very much.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
22 Replies
alperenpalp
Novice

The output rate is 20MSPS. I forgot to add this.

I hope someone can help me with this.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
CheePin_C_Intel
Employee

Hi,