Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20678 Discussions

FPGA Portfolio

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, I am currently a senior level electrical engineer working on PLC based projects, and occasional PCB and embedded design. 

For the last 4 years I have had a keen interest in programming FPGAs with VHDL and have set myself a goal of producing a protfolio of projects with a view to changing career to an FPGA design role (prepared to start again in a junior role). 

So my question is if you were a protential employer what could I show you that would prove I am capable of taking on this role? 

So far I have produced a mandelbrot set generator on the DE10 standard board, using both the processor with Linux and fpga fabric. 

I am also making sure I have obtained good knowledge of DSP techniques. 

So, what else would be essential to a prospective employer? 

Advice greatly appreciated.
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

From my POV, what you do in the FPGA is mostly irrelevent, as most people can handle designing some sort of pipeline. My main interest would be: 

1. Have you any experience setting up and using DDR interfaces? 

2. Have you any experience setting up and using High Speed Serieal Interfaces (PCIe, Ethernet, SRIO etc). 

3. Proof of architecting and designing a system, with teamworking an essential part of this. 

4. Do you have good experience with a simulator? are you capable of building a self checking test bench that meets a test goal? (Plusses for this will be things like VHDL 2008, OSVVM, Vunit, CocoTB (from a VHDL POV) or SystemVerilog, UVM. But dont mention them if you dont understand them). 

I dont think DSP is as important or useful anymore. Tools are pretty efficient, CPUs are faster and resources are often more plentiful than the used to be. FPGAs are more often now about moving packets through a system at 10Gb/s+ bitrates - so for this you need 1/2 above.
0 Kudos