Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20704 Discussions

High speed 16b paralell bus to DSP

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, i am quite new with FPGA, and need ideas how to solve my problem. 

I have 128 points CCD, and i control detector as well as ADC from FPGA. FPGA connects to DSP processor by standard SRAM bus (DATA[15..0], CS#, RD#,WR#,ACK). CCD sensor is sampled at 30MHz, and i need to read data to DSP to do complex math with it. Original idea was to use FIFO, but DSP don't have correct interface ( to be more precise, it does not have CLK ) 

Any idea how to make it work ? Bus must have as low latency possible ( since it should push 480Mbps) 

Data acquisition module was developed inside schematic/diagram programming, since i have little knowledge in VHDL. 

Any suggestion would be appreciated
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Hello, i am quite new with FPGA, and need ideas how to solve my problem. 

I have 128 points CCD, and i control detector as well as ADC from FPGA. FPGA connects to DSP processor by standard SRAM bus (DATA[15..0], CS#, RD#,WR#,ACK). CCD sensor is sampled at 30MHz, and i need to read data to DSP to do complex math with it. Original idea was to use FIFO, but DSP don't have correct interface ( to be more precise, it does not have CLK ) 

Any idea how to make it work ? Bus must have as low latency possible ( since it should push 480Mbps) 

Data acquisition module was developed inside schematic/diagram programming, since i have little knowledge in VHDL. 

Any suggestion would be appreciated 

--- Quote End ---  

What DSP are you using and which Altera FPGA?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

ADSP-21489 a bit oerclocked to match project needs (5MB SRAM, 600MHz clk) 

Altera Cyclone 4 EP4CE6F17C6