Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20677 Discussions

How can I sample a signal without ADC?

BBrom
Beginner

Hello,​

i have little experience in FPGA programming.

My situation: I am an intern and eight weeks ago i had a fpga in hand for the first time. I am using the Polmaddie 7 DevBoard with a cyclone 10.

My job is to sample a noisy digital signal, to check the quality of the signal. Its a simple serial interface with one startbit, seven databits and two stopbits. To messure the jitter i realized a statemachine with a high frequency clk, this is working.

But how can i scan the y-axis, to measure noise and overshoots?

On the board is no ADC installed and if possible , i would like to use no external. Is it possible to realize ADC programmatically (VHDL or AHDL), or is there a completely different way?

I am grateful for every tip.

Greet Ben

0 Kudos
5 Replies
a_x_h_75
New Contributor III

In short - you can't. FPGAs, on their own, don't (generally) had any ADC capability. MAX10 FPGAs do. However, depending on your signal - and particularly the scale of the noise on it - they're not likely to be sufficient to allow you to measure the noise.

Without some external circuitry or ADC you won't be able to determine an 'y-axis' behaviour beyond a logic high or low.

Cheers,

Alex

0 Kudos
JScho6
Novice

That's not entirely true. There's a (quite dirty) way by abusing the differential inputs of the FPGA. Make a resistor-ladder to generate all compare-steps, tie these to the negative input of N differential inputs. Tie all positive inputs together and feed the analogue signal into the FPGA. This is probably the cheapest flash-ADC you can build these days, but it eats up quite a few IOs, which are always scarce (at least in my designs). If you don't need too many bits of resolution, it's worth a try.