Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20693 Discussions

How to get C program or openCL program to call or interact with a preconfigured FPGA

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am new to FPGA's but I am wondering is it possible to to have a preconfigured FPGA already pre-built to do a particular task and have a C or C++ or openCL function call the FPGA and send and receive data to and from it. How would a scenario like this be done?? 

Appreciate any response. Thanks for your time.
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'd say this is one of the main purposes of FPGAs. 

But what do you need exactly?  

You said 'call' the FPGA. So I guess you have an external microprocessor or any other CPU and you want to offload some intensive elaboration to FPGA. Is this correct?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

I'd say this is one of the main purposes of FPGAs. 

But what do you need exactly?  

You said 'call' the FPGA. So I guess you have an external microprocessor or any other CPU and you want to offload some intensive elaboration to FPGA. Is this correct? 

--- Quote End ---  

Hi Cris72,  

Yes that is correct, for example lets say I have a c program that adds tow vectors together that I implement using the cpu, but lets say I also have a FPGA built to specifically multiply two large matrices together. I want to be able to have a C function that can specifically call on the FPGA to do this calculation, pass it the necessary data, receive the result. Its the I/O interaction/communication between the C program function and FPGA that I am unsure about.