Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20688 Discussions

Implementing a Large RAM on Cyclone II - is it possible?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, this is my first time implementing something on FPGA. 

My instructor is currently very busy and I can't find an answer to my problem, hoped I would find here someone nice enough to help. 

In an architecture I need to implement there is a 64X1006 (can be larger of course) bit addressable array. 

When I designed the architecture I didn't know the capabilities of the FPGA, but now when I want to implement it I've seen that the blockrams are of size of 4K bits... 

As to the number of ports: 

Dual write can greatly enhance the performance, but I can manage just fine with a single write per cycle. 

Read is always single read per cycle. 

The device I'm using is cyclone ii ep2c35f672c6 which seems to contain M4K blocks 

Is there any way I can implement this entirely on the FPGA? External dual-port RAM seems to me too exotic, and also I'm not sure if I'm allowed to use even a regular, single-port one. 

Thanks in advance to those who are willing to answer or to direct me to an answer. 

Dan
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

How many of the bits would be accessed at once in a single cycle? More generally, what is the access pattern? Can you reorganize the data in such a way that bits are grouped into tall "columns", and, in any clock cycle, there's at most 2 accesses (2 writes or 1 read and 1 write) to each column?

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

On that part you have 105 M4K blocks, which can be configured in a 4096x1 access thru 128x32. Since you only need a depth of 64 vs the smallest native depth of 128 it means you will need to build a memory that is twice as big, like (128x32)x32 slices to give a 128x1024 array, assuming you want to access all 1006 bits in parallel.