Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20703 Discussions

Intermittent Configuration Issues

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I'm a technician not a programmer. I would like to get some feedback from some of you experts. I have EP3C40 and EPCS16N using Active Serial and Quartus II. Sometimes the board configures and operates, then on another board it will still configure bit it won't operate correctly. The only thing I notice is I'm missing sclk signals, etc. required for some of the correct operations. I know it's vague, I'm looking for feedback and ideas that I can't come up with on my own. 

Thanks.
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Hondabones 

1.Do you mean DCLK? 

2.Is timing constrains met? 

3.Is both board having same design(schematic/board) 

Even board trace can add capacitance and introduce timing variations. 

4.Check the operation after rest the design. 

Best Regards, 

Anand Raj Shankar 

(This message was posted on behalf of Intel Corporation)
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

1. sclk signal is a custom IO. These necessary signals are usually what's missing after it partially configures. The board is able to operate 90% off it's duties except where these clock signals are needed. 

2. We've had many successful boards already, I assume. I don't have a logic analyzer. The engineers, I believe, have thoroughly investigated this. 

3. yes. all the boards are the same. In all of my research the circuit and trace design are correct. I'm going to ask the engineers if termination resistors are necessary for the serial configuration device where I connect the USB Blaster. It's my understanding if this is an issue then you are NOT able to configure. These boards are configuring, just partially. I've had many successful ones as well. 

4. Do want me to allow the board to rest with power off for awhile? I don't understand your 4th point... sorry. 

Thanks for the response.