Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20723 Discussions

Interpretation of compiler report

Niko3
Novice

Hi, I am new with Quartus designs and have following questions to compiler reports. There are no errors but many warnings.

1) I designed a schematic with the block editor. Compilation for a MAX3000A, EPM3064ATC44, needs 58 macrocells and 33 pins.

But compilation for a MAX II, EPM240T100,  only needs 37 logic elements and 29 pins. 

I know that a LE of EPM240 is more complex than a macrocell of MAX3000A, but the difference is very large. Also I don't understand why for an EPM3064A there are 4 pins more needed than the  schematic contains. There are only 29 inputs/outputs.

2) For the EPM3064A I get 4 warnings about combinational loops:

Warning (332125): Found combinational loop of 2 nodes

Warning (332126): Node "inst11|7~6|[2]"

Warning (332126): Node "inst11|7~6|dataout"

Warning (332126): Node "inst11|8~6|[2]"

Warning (332126): Node "inst11|8~6|dataout"

Warning (332126): Node "inst11|9~6|[2]"

Warning (332126): Node "inst11|9~6|dataout"

Warning (332126): Node "inst11|10~6|[2]"

Warning (332126): Node "inst11|10~6|dataout"

The part of the schematic with inst11 is attached.

How to interpret e.g. inst11|10~6|[2]?

I don't see a combinational loop with inst11. Where is it?

3) There are further messages I don't understand:

Warning (332060): Node: CLK was determined to be a clock but was found without an associated clock assignment.

Warning (332061): Virtual clock CLK is never referenced in any input or output delay assignment.

Really there is a clock input called CLK. The sdc file contains two lines:

set_time_format -unit ns -decimal_places 3

create_clock -name {CLK} -period 50.000 -waveform { 0.000 25.000 }

How and where shall I do an associated clock assignment?

What is about virtual clock? I didn't define it.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
sstrell
Honored Contributor III