Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20623 Discussions

Is it possible to feed a MAX10 PLL with slow clock input (< 5MHz)?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi forum. 

I'm a total noob to this business, and would appreciate if you could share your knowledge on this matter: 

In my project I just have one available clock, and it's a NTSC "color clock" of apx 3,5MHz. I would need to multiply it at least 8 times for my internal logic. 

Can I do this using the built-in PLLs of the MAX 10 (10M08SC), or do I have to resort to an external PLL circuit? (Like the OnSemi NB3N502) 

So far I have just tried the ALTPLL Megafunction, and noticed it wouldn't accept lower values than "5" in the input box. Is that final, or can it be tweaked somehow? I have also read through the MAX 10 PLL and CLK user guide, but I'm not sure if understood all parts of it (I'm really new to this :oops:). However, I couldn't find much mentioning of lower limits or "Fmin" and such. 

Any help or pointers are much appreciated.
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Max 10 datasheet indicates absolute minimum frequency input to the PLL is 5MHz. 

Ref datasheet timing / electrical specs, page 26: 

PLL Specifications Table 27. PLL Specifications for MAX 10 Devices VCCD_PLL should always be connected to VCCINT through decoupling capacitor and ferrite bead. Symbol Parameter Condition Min Typ Max Unit fIN Input clock frequency — 5 — 472.5 MHz 

If you could 2X the frequency to ~7.2MHz it would be in range. So something simple like this externally: 

https://www.maximintegrated.com/en/app-notes/index.mvp/id/3327 

would work.