Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers

Problem PIO

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello to all, 

I'm new in FPGA and I have a Cyclone II and I made a design with a Nios II. 

I just want to drive a component (LM629) and I have to send et receive data. 

I created a tri state PIO 

# define LM629_DON_NAME "/dev/LM629_DON" 

# define LM629_DON_TYPE "altera_avalon_pio" 

# define LM629_DON_BASE 0x01000010 

# define LM629_DON_SPAN 16 

# define LM629_DON_DO_TEST_BENCH_WIRING 0 

# define LM629_DON_DRIVEN_SIM_VALUE 0x0000 

# define LM629_DON_HAS_TRI 1 

# define LM629_DON_HAS_OUT 0 

# define LM629_DON_HAS_IN 0 

# define LM629_DON_CAPTURE 0 

# define LM629_DON_EDGE_TYPE "NONE" 

# define LM629_DON_IRQ_TYPE "NONE" 

# define LM629_DON_FREQ 85000000 

# define ALT_MODULE_CLASS_LM629_DON altera_avalon_pio 

To send a data I just write IOWR_ALTERA_AVALON_PIO_DATA(LM629_DON_BASE , mydata).... and the problem that it doesn't work, I can't send the data... 

I read I have to change the direction of my port and I use IOWR_ALTERA_AVALON_PIO_DIRECTION(base, data) 

But finally it's the same thing. :(  

Can you help me ?? 

Thanks
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

did you get nios with an altera dev board? Look in the Examples directory within the kit install path for examples that use PIO.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Did you check the header file altera_avalon_pio_regs.h? There are several defines there that can be of interest: 

# define IOADDR_ALTERA_AVALON_PIO_DIRECTION(base) __IO_CALC_ADDRESS_NATIVE(base, 1) 

# define IORD_ALTERA_AVALON_PIO_DIRECTION(base) IORD(base, 1)  

# define IOWR_ALTERA_AVALON_PIO_DIRECTION(base, data) IOWR(base, 1, data) 

# define ALTERA_AVALON_PIO_DIRECTION_INPUT 0 

# define ALTERA_AVALON_PIO_DIRECTION_OUTPUT 1
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I have almost the same problem.