Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20641 Discussions

Starting with FPGA boards

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi everyone!! 

My name is Dror, i am an electronic engineer student (final year) and i work at a company as a hardware/software developer. 

I learned some FPGA in school but just the basics and nothing too serious. 

We are currently running a control system that has 2 axis motors with stabilization, the system reads sensors and communicates via Ethernet and UART's (written in C#).  

The controller at this moment is Beaglebone Black, and it is great for the current application, but we want to boost it to be able to analyze video and have some image processing ability. 

I have an ALTERA DE0-NANO board to get some experience and get in to the FPGA world. 

My question is (since i am noob at FPGA) how hard will it be to get the same idea to be written in the FPGA, to run parallel readings from different sensors and have the main algorithm for the control part. 

Can i write a code in FPGA that will be similar to C# as far as the construction of the code? as an object oriented?  

Any help will be great! even some knowledge sources to read about the abilities of FPGA as a programmable controller. 

Thanks, 

Dror.
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II