Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20693 Discussions

Stratix V: 10Gb interface/transceiver noob questions

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am new to this family of the chips, and in general new to fast networking (however familiar with networking in general). I searched over the internet and scanned several documents, they have plenty of technical info, but I need to understand very basics of how to "drive" the hardware. The information I will gather will influence platform and in general manufacturer I will use. 

I reads there's some IP available (not sure if it is free of charge of paid though), but I initially target to understand how hardware works at the very low level to see how to optimize the design and write my own. 

So questions are: 

1. Looking at pictures in stratix v gx fpga development board (https://www.altera.com/content/dam/altera-www/global/en_us/pdfs/literature/manual/rm_svgx_fpga_dev_board.pdf) I can not understand how many networking sockets are in the cage. Four? How many channels can I connect to it? 

2. Looking into the stratix v device handbookvolume 2: transceivers (https://www.altera.com/en_us/pdfs/literature/hb/stratix-v/stx5_xcvr.pdf) figures 1-1 and 1-2. I can not understand where QSFP module physically is, and where FPGA is. 

3. If I understood correctly, the differential wire pairs between QSFP module and FPGA carry signal of 10 Gb/s speed? Is there any Altera guide on board layout? 

4. If I am not mistaken, FPGA's manual says its max frequencly is 600 MHz. But then it will not be able to cope with 10 GB/s speed as is, and will require deseiralizer and 32-bit parallel bus (8000/32~250 MHz). But figure 1-1 shows 1-bit bus width as an input to the "FPGA fabric"!