Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20704 Discussions

Triple Speed Ethernet

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello everyone, 

I am new to FPGA, I have an Altera DE2-115 kit and i was working on triple speed Ethernet, and have successfully done the "Using Triple Speed Ethernet Tutorial", but i want some help to understand some part of the code given with the tutorial. 

// Triple-speed Ethernet MegaCore base address 

volatile int * tse = (int *) 0x00102000; 

// Initialize the MAC address 

*(tse + 3) = 0x116E6001; 

*(tse + 4) = 0x00000F02; 

// Specify the addresses of the PHY devices to be accessed through MDIO interface 

*(tse + 0x0F) = 0x10; 

*(tse + 0x10) = 0x11; 

// Write to register 20 of the PHY chip for Ethernet port 0 to set up line loopback 

*(tse + 0x94) = 0x4000; 

// Write to register 16 of the PHY chip for Ethernet port 1 to enable automatic crossover for all modes("| = OR") 

*(tse + 0xB0) = *(tse + 0xB0) | 0x0060; 

// Write to register 20 of the PHY chip for Ethernet port 2 to set up delay for input/output clk 

*(tse + 0xB4) = *(tse + 0xB4) | 0x0082; 

// Software reset the second PHY chip and wait 

*(tse + 0xA0) = *(tse + 0xA0) | 0x8000; 

while ( *(tse + 0xA0) & 0x8000 ) 

// Enable read and write transfers, gigabit Ethernet operation, and CRC forwarding 

*(tse + 2) = *(tse + 2) | 0x0000004B; 

Thanks.
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

What exactly is it that you don't understand? Each of those lines has a comment explaining what is done. Personally I would have used# defines instead of hard coded addresses and offsets though.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

What exactly is it that you don't understand? Each of those lines has a comment explaining what is done. Personally I would have used# defines instead of hard coded addresses and offsets though. 

--- Quote End ---