Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20688 Discussions

USB Blaster stopped working with Windows 10 update?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

So it may be just a coincidence but last week everything was working good. On Friday my system updated with the latest Windows 10 1803 update and I noticed in Quartus ver 17.1 and the standalone programmer that i could no longer see the USB blaster. I tired another USB blaster and the same issue. The Device Manager shows the USB Blaster under the USB devices and says it's working normal. Thinking maybe i had a corrupted driver I uninstalled the driver and tried reinstalling the driver using the one that gets installed with the software and I got an error saying Windows has encountered a problem installing the driver, Access is denied. I am a full admin on this system so i don't feel "rights" is an issue. So i tried rebooting the computer and disables driver signature enforcement and that didn't help. I tired to uninstall the 1803 WIndows update but Windows came back saying that it can't be uninstalled. I downloaded the latest ver 18 standalone programmer and tried that driver and no change, same error.  

So wondering about admin rights i tried two other computers in my lab that had the 1803 update as well and I got the same problem tried to do a clean install of the USB blaster. I found one computer that was still at the Windows 10 1709 update and tried installing the driver. Here I got the issue where it tells me the hash for the file is not present, so i rebooted the computer and disables driver signature enforcement and was able to install the driver and reboot as normal with everything working. I'm on a domain so the computer has to be up to date so even rebuilding the computer and not do the 1803 update isn't an option. Anyone else have this issue?
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi 

--- Quote Start ---