Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20705 Discussions

how to count only adjacent(linked) 1's quantity in 7X7 matrix buffer using fpga?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hello. 

i'm studying image processing using fpga. 

i attached 7x7 matrix image. 

yellow is 1 and white is 0. 

normally i can count all 1's quantity in 7x7 matrix included un-linked 1, but i can't count only adjacent(linked) 1's quantity except un-linked 1. 

would you let me know how to do? 

if there are some solution like IP, where can i buy that one? 

please help me. 

thank you. 

from korea.
0 Kudos
12 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You are perhaps just considering vertical and horizontal neighbors pixels. The first thing that comes to mind is recommend you to change the scan operator that you're currently using, in order to also consider diagonal pixels as connected.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Have a look at the Lutz Algorithm - Ive seen it implemented in an FPGA before: 

http://comjnl.oxfordjournals.org/content/23/3/262.full.pdf
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

You are perhaps just considering vertical and horizontal neighbors pixels. The first thing that comes to mind is recommend you to change the scan operator that you're currently using, in order to also consider diagonal pixels as connected. 

--- Quote End ---  

thank you for your answer. you are right. i attached another example matrix. 

in that case, if i considerate diagonal pixel then yellow('1') q'ty is 7. if i don't considerate diagonal pixel then yellow('1') q'ty is 4. 

but in my method, i am beginner so just all pixel added using simple way. the result is only 9. that is problem. 

my wanted value is 4 or 7 but get the 9. 

restrict condition is time. i have to get the value 4 or 7 within 108us(short time). so i can't using breadth first search algorithm also.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II