Rapid Storage Technology
Intel® RST, RAID
2047 Discussions

How do I delete/revert a recovery volume ??

ARich19
Novice

Hello, 

I am a beginner with this software. I added a HDD 1TB to my laptop and by mistake (not knowing what I was doing at the moment) I created a Recovery Volume with the Intel Rapid Storage Technology. 

I wanted to increase my storage capacity of my laptop , I already have a 128 GB SSD and wanted to add the 1TB HDD.

But with the Recovery Volume I only have a 120 GB space available. 

How can I revert the process ? So that I can use the 1GB of my new HDD...

In the device manager : I only see a "Intel Recovery Volume"... 

I will answer to your futurs questions as quick as possible, 

Thanks you in advance to anyone helping, 

Anthony

9 Replies
TCsor
Beginner

same problem here, pls someone help

I wonder if it is a solution to uninstall Intel Rapid Storage Technology?

0 Kudos
n_scott_pearson
Super User

From the Intel RST app, you should be able to click on the graphic for the 1TB drive and, in the resulting display, choose to remove this drive from the "SATA Array". If this doesn't work, go into the Manage tab and do it from there.

Frankly, if you have no need for Intel RST -- that is, no use for RAID or Optane Caching -- then you should uninstall it. Aside from these capabilities, Intel RST offers nothing. Once upon a time, the Intel RST Storage Driver was slightly better performing that the Microsoft Storage Driver, but things are pretty much a wash these days.

Hope this helps,

...S

0 Kudos
ARich19
Novice

Thank you for your reply,

There isn't any "Remove" option...

Considering the uninstall option : I was afraid that I would lose my Data on my SSD in the process.

Could you confirm me that I risk nothing when uninstalling it ?

Thanks again,

Anthony

0 Kudos
n_scott_pearson
Super User

No, no guarantee of that. Always back up your drive before any operation.