Rapid Storage Technology
Intel® RST, RAID
2045 Discussions

IRST quit working - Windows 7 - 'An unknown error occurred while running this application.'

DHans4
Beginner

I've been using Intel Rapid Storage Technology for a couple years on my home PC, but it just recently stopped working. I'm running a single 250GB Samsung SSD for my OS, and 3 x 3TB Seagate Drives in a RAID 5 for storage. I also have a couple of other drives with other OS's installed for dual-boot, but they're not really relevant to my situation here...

Other Specs of Note:

Version: 6.1.7601 SP1

BIOS Version/Date: American Megatrends Inc. 0403, 10/23/2013

SMBIOS Version: 2.7

MOBO: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition, Rev 1.xx

Earlier today, I went to burn a DVD and noticed my DVD drive was missing, as was my storage drive (I basically just had C:\ and a couple of virtual disk drives from Daemon Tools). Upon further investigation, I also noticed all of my drives except my OS drive were missing from Disk Management.

I checked my virus scans, and took all the available Windows updates to no avail. Then I tried running 'Windows Memory Diagnostic Tool (mdsched.exe)' but it found no errors. Finally, I powered down, unplugged, took the case apart and checked all of my connections (they were good). When I booted back up, I loaded into BIOS to check a few things, and noticed all of the drives were appearing there (which was reassuring). After I checked that and tried to boot, I got a black screen during POST that stated "The system found unauthorized changes on the firmware, operating system, or UEFI drivers". After a bit of Googling, I came across https://superuser.com/questions/1054790/system-found-unauthorized-changes-on-the-firmware/1054999 this SuperUser article which suggested disabling Secure Boot. I did that and my PC booted without issue.