Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

3rd party Cordova Plugins (Facebook Connect)

Ramon_E_
Beginner

Hi Everyone,

I've been building an App for a few months now and I think i've ran an issue that I can't seem to figure out.  I installed facebook connect on my App and I'm trying to get it to work.  I get the unhandled exec call when I try to login.  I understand this is intended behavior being that its a cordova plugin that is not supported by the Simulate Tab. How can I can I test these 3rd party Plugins?  I would like to test a variety of Facebook features and interact with them as users make their way around my app.  

Thanks,

Ramon E.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
PaulF_IntelCorp
Employee
0 Kudos
Ramon_E_
Beginner

based on this link that you provided... https://software.intel.com/en-us/xdk/docs/intel-xdk-debug-and-test-overview .  It seems I really need to use weirne if I want to go the 3rd party plugin route.  In the section  "Intel XDK Test Tab" it states "The weinre console feature of the Test tab has been retired. Please refer to the weinre section of this document for an alternate open-source solution."  However in the preceding section "Using Node weinre* to Debug Your App" there are instructions on how to install weinre.  

I'm confused as to whether I should go down this installation route being that it the Debug tab has been retired and the weinre has been retired along with it.  

If there is a way to use weinre outside of intel xdk to test my hybrid apps built in xdk can you provide me with a way link or way to do that? Being that theres also a section that says " weinre with a built app (esp. with third-party plugins)."  Would I have to build every time I wanted to test my 3rd party plugins?

Thanks in advance.  Any bit of guidance would be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
PaulF_IntelCorp
Employee