Software Archive
Read-only legacy content

App Preview

Adebayo_A_
Beginner

Good day everyone,

I am new to Intel XDK and I have a few question with regards use of the App Preview app.

I would like to know if I must be connected to the internet in order to use the app when testing my apps.

Any help on how to test apps through wifi will also be deeply appreciated.

Awaiting your kind responses. Thanks

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Ad
New Contributor III

First, to get your project compiled on the Intel server you always must have a wifi connection.

In the XDK you have several options to test/debug your app, here I explain 2 but there are more!

TEST TAB
You must have a wifi connection, otherwise App Preview app can't login and fetch your app from the server even if you use Local Apps

Open the XDK IDE and open the TEST tab. In the left pane is explained how to test your app with the App Preview app
More information can be found here: https://software.intel.com/en-us/xdk/docs/intel-xdk-app-preview-overview

DEBUG TAB
The XDK IDE must to have Wifi connection, your device does NOT need wifi.
P.S. You need to make an USB connection with your device.

Open the XDK IDE and open the DEBUG tab. Here is explained how to debug your app.

0 Kudos
Adebayo_A_
Beginner

Thanks for the reply.

If I get you very well, one of my devices must be connected to the internet in order for me to use the Test or Debug option right?

What about the Live Layout Editing under Develop tab?

0 Kudos
PaulF_IntelCorp
Employee

@Adebayo -- the XDK and your device must have an Internet connection to use the Test tab (whether you choose MOBILE or the WIFI option). In particular, App Preview on your device needs to confirm your account login, even if you use the WIFI option. The Test tab's WIFI option is faster and more reliable.