Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

Binary error on Xeon Phi

Joe
Beginner

I wanted to run a Fortran code on one coprocessor of Xeon Phi. I've compiled the file on the main processor (gfortran -fopenmp program.f95 -o test) and copied the output file (test) to the coprocessor via scp command and tried to execute the file (./test), while doing that I got the following error "-bash: ./test: cannot execute binary file".

I'm completely new to Xeon Phi, Please help to get rid of this.....

Thank you

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Kevin_D_Intel
Employee

You will need the Intel Development tools. At least the Intel Fortran compiler and RTLs, https://software.intel.com/en-us/intel-parallel-studio-xe.

There are Free trials and Free tools for Students, educators, academic researchers, and open source contributors who qualify, https://software.intel.com/en-us/intel-parallel-studio-xe/try-buy

The article Building a Native Application for Intel® Xeon Phi™ Coprocessors. Note that the article mixes the Linux/Windows forms of compiler options. You would use hypen forms as in: ifort -mmic -qopenmp program.f95

Here is a small example:

PROGRAM  omp_example
IMPLICIT NONE

INTEGER, EXTERNAL :: OMP_GET_THREAD_NUM, OMP_GET_NUM_THREADS
INTEGER :: nthreads, thread_id

!$OMP PARALLEL private(nthreads, thread_id) num_threads(2)
  thread_id = OMP_GET_THREAD_NUM()

write (*,"(A,I3)")"Thread id: ", thread_id

if (thread_id == 0) then
     nthreads = OMP_GET_NUM_THREADS()
     write (*,"(A,I3)")"Num threads: ", nthreads
  end if
!$OMP END PARALLEL
END

$ export SINK_LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/intel/compilers_and_libraries_2017.1.118/linux/compiler/lib/intel64_lin_mic

$ ifort -V
Intel(R) Fortran Intel(R) 64 Compiler for applications running on Intel(R) 64, Version 17.0.1.132 Build 20161005

$ ifort -qopenmp -mmic sample_omp.f90
$ /opt/intel/mic/bin/micnativeloadex a.out
Thread id:   0
Thread id:   1
Num threads:   2